Erin O’Toole Announces Formation of Government Nuclear Caucus

Ottawa, ON – June 6, 2013 – Recognizing the importance of the more than 30,000 jobs in the Canadian nuclear sector, Conservative MPs have formed a Nuclear Caucus to study aspects of the industry in Canada and to meet regularly with stakeholders. MP Erin O’Toole (Durham) was named Chair of the Nuclear Caucus at its inaugural meeting this morning.

“Nuclear power is not only an important driver of the economy in my riding of Durham, but it has a tremendous impact across the country on top of being an important source of emission-free base load electricity” said MP O’Toole.

MP O’Toole’s constituency of Durham includes the Ontario Power Generation’s (OPG) Darlington Nuclear Power Generator station, located on the shores of Lake Ontario in Clarington. The Darlington facility houses four CANDU reactors and is capable of producing up to 20% of Ontario’s energy needs.

“OPG Darlington is a technologically advanced nuclear facility and its employees have been recognized internationally for their record of safety and reliability” said MP O’Toole.

The Government Nuclear Caucus has outlined a series of regular meetings and will begin meeting with stakeholders in the summer and fall of 2013.

For additional information or comment from MP O’Toole, please contact:
Amber Bryant-Peller
Legislative Assistant to Erin O’Toole, MP (Durham)
Phone: 613-992-2792 / Email:

Stay in Touch with Erin

Sign up for email updates from Erin O'Toole to hear the latest from Ottawa and our riding.